WASHINGTON, D.C. – January 2, 2019  – Ian Jefferies, President and CEO of the Association of American Railroads (AAR), issued the following statement on the confirmation of Patrick Fuchs and Martin Oberman as Commissioners to the Surface Transportation Board (STB):

“The freight railroad industry congratulates the new STB Commissioners on their well-deserved confirmation. As Congress helps the Board get closer to a full complement of five members, we believe that the agency is now one step closer to realizing its Congressional charter to maintain a proven economic framework that allows the industry to earn the revenues it needs to serve a vast set of customers, while providing appropriate regulatory protections for these same rail shippers.

We are confident that these new STB Commissioners will govern sensibly and be driven by sound economic principles. We hope that after careful review of pending proposals that the Board forgoes measures that limit the rail industry’s ability to invest for the future. The AAR and its members look forward to robust and transparent dialogue with the STB.”


For more information contact: AAR Media Relations at [email protected] or 202-639-2345.

About AAR: The Association of American Railroads is the world’s leading railroad policy, research and technology organization focusing on the safety and productivity of rail carriers. AAR members include the major freight railroads of the U.S., Canada and Mexico, as well as Amtrak.